2020 NCWA Nation­al Duals Bracket Released

Courtesy of the NCWA – Link

By Bryan Knepper

The official bracket for the 2020 NCWA National Duals hosted at Liberty University on January 24-25, 2020 has been released.

The bracket can be viewed HERE.

The action starts at 10 AM on January 24th at the LaHaye Ice Center on the campus of Liberty University. The finals are set for 5 PM on Saturday, January 25th.


The 2020 NCWA National Duals is the springboard for a team’s overall national title contention. The NCWA has united its two championship events into a
single scoring system, the NCWA Championship Series, which is unique among all other major-college championship sports. The tournament has now gone to a selection format in which the top-12 to 16 teams across the country are selected by the National Dual Selection Committee made up of the
NCWA Executive Board and the 8 Conference Chairmen.  This year, the winner of the National Duals will earn 20 team points which will transfer to the Grand National Championship Standings at the end of the National Tournament in March, with the second place team earning 19 points, third place 18, and so on down to 5 points for 16th place. The team points won at the National Duals will then be added to those earned in the individual brackets at the NCWA Championships in March to determine a true overall national-champion team while keeping intact the traditional individual championships that have been the NCWA’s hallmark season-ending event.

This will also be the first season that the NCWA sponsors a Women’s Division National Dual Championship.  Points from this championship will also be added to the overall Grand National Championship, with the NCWA being the first to combine Men’s and Women’s points together for a Championship!

Lynchburg, Virginia and Liberty University
This is the third season for Liberty University (MAC) and the City of Lynchburg to host the National Duals.

As now two-time defending champions, the Liberty Flames will try capture the title again in 2020 and look to be seeded #1 in this year’s dual tournament as they have dominated the 2019-20 season thus far.

Grand Valley State won National Duals titles hosted by the NWCA in 2007 and 2008 before the tournament became an official NCWA-championship event. Since then, Grand Valley State (2009), Marion Military Institute (2010), California Baptist (2011), Liberty University (2012), Lindenwood-St. Charles (2013), Grand Canyon (2014), Liberty University (2015), Central Florida (2016), and Emmanuel (2017), Liberty (2018, 2019) have
won dual championship titles.

Teams scheduled to compete in the Men’s 10-team field are: Liberty, Apprentice, Central Florida, Springfield Tech, Grays Harbor, newcomer Schreiner University (TX), Toledo, Washington State, newcomer East Carolina, and Temple.  Women’s teams competing for the inaugural Women’s Division Dual title will be host Liberty, Schreiner, and Springfield Tech. 

Share this article:
Categories: NCWA Men, NCWA Women, News

Comments are closed here.