2020 NWCA High School Girls Coach of the Year Awards Program

Manheim, PA – The National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) is proud to announce the 2020 winners of the State and National High School Girls Coach of the Year awards.  This program is in its second year and will continue to expand as the number of states sanctioning high school girls wrestling grows. To date Girls High School Wrestling is sanctioned in 26 states. States sponsoring girls championships: Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts. Maine, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Washington.

Boys Coach of the Year Winners | http://www.nwcaonline.com/2020-nwca-high-school-girls-coach-of-the-year-awards-program/

This year’s National Girls Coach of the Year is Mike Simons from Thurston High School (OR) and the National Girls Assistant Coaching Staff of the Year represents Penn High School (IN).

Simons (National and Oregon Coach of the Year) just completed his 24th season of coaching, the last 17 at Thurston High School, where he serves as both boys and girls head wrestling coach. His 2019-20 squad finished as State Champions with 7 individual qualifiers and 4 placers.  Coach Simons has won numerous league and state coach of the year awards from OSAA, OHSCA, and the NFHS among others.  He is very active at the state level; Simons serves on multiple committees including the position of OWCE Director which has allowed Simons to host international teams while also organizing travel abroad for many athletes. During the day, Coach Simons teaches Health and PE at Thurston High School.

This year the NWCA expanded the awards program to recognize not just a single assistant coach for a program, but rather the entire coaching staff.  This year, six coaches from Penn High School (IN) have been recognized as both the National and Indiana staff of the year.  The Penn staff is comprised of Kaitlin Dickman, Mariah Eberhart, Amy Hildebrandt, Kristen Hills, Jay Reppert, Matt Selis. The 2019-2020 squad swept their four regular-season tournaments as well as the regional and state meets.  This marked the fourth season in a row that the team won the state championship.

“The NWCA is proud to provide a platform to help recognize outstanding coaches at both the state and national levels.  Coaches have the ability to positively impact the lives of their athletes and ultimately change the fabric of a community,” said NWCA Executive Director Mike Moyer. “While we are recognizing these winners, we also want to thank each coach out there as they give so much of themselves to their program and athletes.”


Section 1Farid SyedKingsway Regional High SchoolNew Jersey
Section 2George ShoreMiami East High SchoolOhio
Section 3Ty AberoGreenbrier High SchoolGeorgia
Section 3Brian OlsonOverills High SchoolNorth Carolina
Section 3Cain BeardRock Hill High SchoolSouth Carolina
Section 3Jenna MorrisTullahoma High SchoolTennessee
Section 4Brad HarperPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 5Damon ParkerWashburn Rural High SchoolKansas
Section 5Eric DevenneyHarrisonville High SchoolMissouri
Section 6Jerry EvansSearcy High SchoolArkansas
Section 6Nate SellersMiyamura High SchoolNew Mexico
Section 7Sean FlaniganIronwood HSArizona
Section 7Robert FloresJames Logan High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Robert HesiaKamehameha Schools KapalamaHawaii
Section 7Ben SzaboWestlake High SchoolUtah
Section 8Junior LambertNorth Pole High SchoolAlaska
Section 8Mike SimonsThurston High SchoolOregon
Section 8Dom DuncanHanford High SchoolWashington




Section 3Britney HammockLamar County High SchoolGeorgia
Section 3Scott HammockLamar County High SchoolGeorgia
Section 3Jonathan BischoffLamar County High SchoolGeorgia
Section 3Justin WilliamsRock Hill High SchoolSouth Carolina
Section 3Ryan WhitmoreRock Hill High SchoolSouth Carolina
Section 3Mary Catherine CorreiaCollierville High SchoolTennessee
Section 4Matt SelisPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 4Amy HildebrandtPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 4Mariah EberhartPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 4Jay reppertPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 4Kaitlin DickmanPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 4Kristen HillsPenn High SchoolIndiana
Section 5Mike SchriddeGreat Bend High SchoolKansas
Section 5Jeremy FosterGreat Bend High SchoolKansas
Section 5Brian SchriddleGreat Bend High SchoolKansas
Section 5Kristy CreamerGreat Bend High SchoolKansas
Section 5Bobby HerrickHarrisonville High SchoolMissouri
Section 5Shannon LineberryHarrisonville High SchoolMissouri
Section 5James PesekHarrisonville High SchoolMissouri
Section 5Daniel JenningsHarrisonville High SchoolMissouri
Section 6Dusty BowmanHar-Ber High SchoolArkansas
Section 6Godwal “Ed” VieraHar-Ber High SchoolArkansas
Section 6Jacob RobertsonHar-Ber High SchoolArkansas
Section 6Ozzy GuerreroMiyamura High SchoolNew Mexico
Section 7Michael GarciaBasha HSArizona
Section 7Eric TorayaBasha HSArizona
Section 7David WhittenBasha HSArizona
Section 7Nguyey TranJames Logan High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Colin MalcolmJames Logan High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Eli BagaosianJames Logan High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Allen ChanJames Logan High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Danny MaiJames Logan High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Fallyn KapoiKamehameha Schools KapalamaHawaii
Section 7Kelii RossKamehameha Schools KapalamaHawaii
Section 7Shana DillinerKamehameha Schools KapalamaHawaii
Section 7Chris WestKamehameha Schools KapalamaHawaii
Section 7Cody BurdettWestlake High SchoolUtah
Section 7Emily FinlinsonWestlake High SchoolUtah
Section 8Jeff CardwellThurston High SchoolOregon
Section 8Guy HarrisThurston High SchoolOregon
Section 8Madison SimonsThurston High SchoolOregon
Section 8Joe GardnerThurston High SchoolOregon
Section 8Austin HughesThurston High SchoolOregon
Section 8Chris DicugnoWhite River High SchoolWashington
Section 8Jeff MooreWhite River High SchoolWashington
Section 8Randy BeddowWhite River High SchoolWashington


Share this article:

Comments are closed here.