Devoe named D2 Bob Bubb Coaching Excellence Award Recipient

Manheim, PA – On Wednesday, the National Wrestling Coaching Association announced that Colorado School of Mines head coach, Austin Devoe, has been named the 2019 Bob Bubb Coaching Excellence Award winner. 

 The Bob Bubb Coaching Excellence award is presented annually to one coach across each division of collegiate wrestling and is intended for an outstanding coach who epitomizes the qualities and characteristics of a role model and mentor for developing young student-athletes. 

Devoe has served as the head coach at Colorado School of Mines since 2014 and his 2019 squad completed a 10-2 dual meet schedule winning the RMAC and finished in 5th place at Super Regional VI while qualifying four wrestlers for the NCAA DII Championships to be held at the Wolstein Center, March 8-9 in Cleveland, OH.  

 During the 2017-18 season, Devoe’s team recorded an 11-3 dual record which helped them to a Runner Up finish in the RMAC. 

Coach Devoe has raised approximately $300,000 for renovations at the Jack Hancock Wrestling Center which includes personalized lockers, hot/cold tubs, and a private study/lounge area for his wrestlers.  Devoe has also managed to connect his program with the local community where they raised almost $30,000 in their Peaches of a Purpose fundraiser to support various local causes while also assisting with the Golden Rotary Foundation/Food Bank of the Rockies Holiday Food Drive.

NWCA Executive Director, Mike Moyer stated, “I’m pleased to announce that the Division II coaches have chosen their President, Austin Devoe from The Colorado School of Mines, as their Bob Bubb Coaching Excellence award winner for the 2018-19 year. Austin certainly exemplifies the attributes and traits of Coach Bob Bubb through his service to his coaches, his commitment to his Student-Athletes, and his passion for the greater good of our sport.”  


  • Adam Aho, University of Mary 
  • Austin Devoe, Colorado School of Mines 
  • Brian Tucker, Seton Hill University 
  • Charlie Pipher, Western Colorado University 
  • Chas Thompson, Fort Hays State University 
  • Don Henry, Gannon University 
  • Heath Grimm, Upper Iowa University 
  • Pat Sole, Ohio Valley University 
  • Rocky Burkett, Northern State University 
  • Seth Bloomquist, Shippensburg University 
Share this article:
Categories: D2, News

Comments are closed here.