Fresno City College wins 3rd Consecutive CCCAA Title

Courtesy of John Sachs/Tech-Fall

Photo Credit – John Sachs/Tech-Fall

With military-style precision and strength, the Fresno City College Rams captured their 3rd consecutive team title at this year’s CCCAA State Wrestling Championship (hosted by Cerritos College). The Rams placed all 12 wrestlers, including four Champions and three runners up. The march to their 16th State Team Championship featured team titles at the prestigious Golden Eagle and Santa Ana tournaments.

Head Coach Paul Keysaw and Assistant Coach George Moreno were named Coach and Assistant Coach of the Year.

Coach Keysaw’s thoughts on this year’s campaign, “I am very proud of this team. Sometimes when teams have success they stop working hard. This team worked hard and keep grinding through the end. We competed very well this weekend at the championship. The kids stepped up on the big stage and performed when it mattered most. I have to credit Coach Moreno for his practice plans and getting the guys ready to compete”

Palomar and Cerritos rounded out the top four teams. Greg Villoria, competing at 125 for San Joaquin Delta College was named the Outstanding Wrestler. The Manuel Gorrarian Award – Most Falls Least Accumulative Time, went to Steven Abbott (Sacramento City College), with four 1st period falls. Sacramento City College placed 2nd with 119.5 team points. Head Coach Dave Pacheco assessed his team’s finals performance, “I was excited for my two finalists [Bronson Harmon at 184 and Brian Horn at 197] as they both worked hard to reach the final battle. We went one and one, but both showed true championship form. We are proud of all they accomplished to help our team.”

Championship finals Match Results

Weight Class 125

Photo Credit – John Sachs/Tech-Fall

Greg Villoria (San Joaquin Delta) 3-0 won by decision over Mario Moreno (Fresno City) 2-1 (Dec 8-2)

Weight Class 133
Isaiah Perez (Fresno City) 3-0 won by decision over Raul Ortiz (Palomar) 2-1 (Dec 9-5)

Weight Class 141
Josh Brown (Cerritos) 3-0 won by major decision over Luis Ramos (Fresno City) 2-1 (MD 10-2)

Weight Class 149
Daniel Ruiz (Fresno City) 3-0 won by decision over Adam Valdez (Mt SAC) 2-1 (Dec 6-5)

Weight Class 157
Luis Vargas (Santa Ana ) 3-0 won by decision over Ruben Garcia (Fresno City) 2-1 (Dec 8-2)

Weight Class 165
Augestine Garcia (Fresno City) 3-0 won by major decision over Mace Anderson (Palomar) 2-1 (MD 12-3)

Weight Class 174
Abner Romero (Fresno City) 3-0 won by decision over Zack Gonzalez (Cerritos) 2-1 (Dec 8-1)

Weight Class 184
Bronson Harmon (Sacramento City) 3-0 won by decision over Jhaylyn Hall (Santa Rosa) 2-1 (Dec 3-2)

Weight Class 197
Anthony Cress (Chabot) 3-0 won by decision over Brian Horn (Sacramento City) 2-1 (Dec 6-3)

Weight Class 285
Cristian Ayala (Mt SAC) 3-0 won in tie breaker – 1 over Cole Mair (Lassen) 2-1 (TB-1 3-2)

Final Team Scores

1 Fresno City 187.0
2 Sacramento City 119.5
3 Palomar 109.0
4 Cerritos 103.5
5 Mt SAC 79.0
6 Bakersfield 53.5
7 Santa Ana 52.5
8 Lassen 52.0
8 Santa Rosa 52.0
10 Skyline 39.5
11 Modesto 32.0
12 Chabot 31.0
13 Sierra 25.0
14 Shasta 22.5
15 Moorpark 21.5
16 San Joaquin Delta 20.5
17 West Hills 18.0
18 Cuesta 17.0
19 Rio Hondo 16.5
20 East Los Angeles 12.0

Share this article:
Categories: News, CCCAA

Comments are closed here.