Growing WrestlingJoin NWCA

Women’s Wrestling Facts & Resources

The NWCA has developed a comprehensive list of women’s wrestling facts and resources.

  • Since 1994, the number of women who wrestle in high school has grown from 804 to over 11,496.
  • 30 colleges now sponsor a varsity wrestling program.
  • Since 2004, women’s wrestling is now a recognized Olympic sport.
  • Alaska, California, Oregon, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Tennessee, Texas, Hawaii and Washington sponsor a state high school championship.
  • Women’s high wrestling participation numbers are higher than the NCAA sponsored sports of crew, fencing, skiing, and rifle and NCAA emerging sports of rugby, sand volleyball and equestrian.
  • NWCA conducts a 16-team National Dual Meet Championship in conjunction with the NWCA/Cliff Keen Collegiate National Duals
  • The NWCA in conjunction with USA Wrestling and Lock Haven University conducted the first of its kind CEO Leadership Academy for coaches of women’s teams.
  • Since 2015, the NWCA has invited 20 Coaches to take part in the NWCA CEO Academy for Women’s Coaches as part of the NWCA Traditional Leadership Academy in Fort Lauderdale.
  • NWCA has been instrumental in getting women’s wrestling added as a new sport a number of schools


  • WCWA serves as the governing body for women’s college wrestling.
  • WCWA competes at NWCA National Duals.
  • WCWA National Tournament will have 200+ athletes competing at it.
  • There are currently 30 college teams that are current members, a growth of 2 colleges per year.
  • All colleges have 30+ members per team.
  • All members offer athletic scholarships to athletes.
  • WCWA follow International Freestyle Rules.
  • WCWA members also compete in USAW Senior and Jr. Fila events.
  • WCWA college recruiting fare is held during the USAW Girls Folkstyle National.
  • WCWA members must follow eligibility rules similar to NCAA and NAIA rules.
  • WCWA members have been using NWCA OPC for wt certification since 2014-15.