LIU Wrestling Accepts Membership Into EIWA Beginning in 2019-20

Courtesy of Pioneer Athletics – Link

                                                                                 EIWA WEBSITE   –   EIWA FACEBOOK   –   EIWA TWITTER

BROOKVILLE, N.Y. – Long Island University announced that is has accepted membership into the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association on Tuesday, April 16. LIU will begin competition as the league’s 17th member during the 2019-20 season.

The EIWA is the oldest wrestling conference in the nation, founded originally in 1904 by Yale University, Columbia University, University of Pennsylvania, and Princeton University. Along with being the oldest conference, the EIWA is the largest conference in the country and its champion receives an automatic qualification to the NCAA Division I Championship.

“The move to Division I is exciting and our acceptance into the EIWA is brining that excitement to another level,” head coach Joe Patrovich remarked. “Competing in one of the best conferences in the country gives us many great opportunities along with many challenges and we are ready to meet them. Our University, alumni, fan base, and wrestling community has given us overwhelming support and we are proud to be a part of the EIWA and its tradition moving forward.”

Member universities include American University, United States Military Academy, Binghamton, Brown, Bucknell, Columbia, Cornell, Drexel, Franklin & Marshall, Harvard, Hofstra, Lehigh, United States Naval Academy, Penn, Princeton, and Sacred Heart.

“We are extremely excited to have the chance to associate ourselves with one of the top wrestling conferences in the country,” expressed Director of Athletics Debbie DeJong. “The EIWA has a long tradition of academic excellence as well as athletic achievement. I would like to thank the conference for accepting us as its 17th member and look forward to Long Island University being a part of this group of esteemed universities.”

“I want to thank all who were involved with this process including the coaches and administrators from the conference, along with Mike Moyer, our administration, Debbie DeJong, and [LIU President] Dr. Kimberly Cline,” commented Patrovich.

Share this article:
Categories: News

Comments are closed here.