NWCA Announces Division II Bob Bubb Coaching Excellence Finalists

By Dan Weaver

Doug Moses from New Mexico Highlands, Steve Costanzo from St. Cloud State University and Mike Wehler from Mercyhurst University are this year’s finalists.

Doug Moses is in his 13th season as head coach of the New Mexico Highlands wrestling program, guiding the team since its rebirth with the 2005-06 season.

During head coach Doug Moses’ tenure with New Mexico Highlands wrestling, he has produced New Mexico Highlands University’s first ever NCAA National Champion, Seth Wright, at 125 pounds in 2010.

Moses has been inducted into five Wrestling Hall of Fames: Adams State University (as a wrestler), University of Southern Colorado – now CSU-Pueblo – (as a head coach), the Amateur Athletic Union Wrestling, the NCAA Division II Coaches Hall of Fame and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Hall of Fame.

Head Coach Doug Moses has produced five All-Americans (Patrick Sharpe at 141 lb. in 2006, Luke McPeak at 197 lbs. in 2009, Jesse Feinsod at 174 lbs. in both 2008 and 2009 and Seth Wright at 125 lbs. in 2010). Along with coaching five All-Americans, Moses has mentored nine NCAA National Qualifiers (Patrick Sharpe and Charles Segal in 2006, Ross Montour in 2007, Jesse Boggs in 2008, 2009 and 2010, Luke McPeak in 2009, Jesse Feinsod in 2008 and 2009, Seth Wright in 2010, Justin Rockhill in 2013 and Erick Rangel in 2014). Ross Montour was the NCAA Western Regional/Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Champion at 141 lbs. in 2007.

In his coaching career, he has produced an astonishing 73 All-Americans and 13 National Champions.

Steve Costanzo is in his 12th season as head coach at St. Cloud State in 2017-18.  He is the 13th coach in the history of the St. Cloud State University wrestling program, which dates to 1949-50.

Costanzo is in his 19th season overall as a college head coach.  Prior to the start of this season he had a career record of 230-58-2 while coaching 140 National Qualifiers, 81 All-Americans, 7 National Champions and 100 NWCA All-Academic recipients.

Costanzo’s Huskies won the NCAA Division II national championship in 2016 and 2015 and his team at Dana College won the NAIA national title in 2006.

Costanzo was named the NWCA Division II Coach of the Year after leading the Huskies to their second NCAA Division II national title in 2016.

St. Cloud State University captured its first-ever NCAA Division II wrestling championship in 2015.  This marked the first time in school history that a team from St. Cloud State has won a national title in any sport.

In 2006, Costanzo led Dana College to the NAIA National Championship (with a tourney record 193 points) and a NWCA National Duals Championship.  The Vikings finished with top 10 finishes at the NAIA National Championships in 2004, 2005 and 2006.

Costanzo’s student-athletes have enjoyed success off the mat as well.  In the past seasons, his wrestling teams have recorded top-20 grade point averages nationally – as recorded by the NAIA and NCAA Division II National Wrestling Coaches Association.

In 2003, Costanzo was credited with the NAIA Robert Bubb Coaching Excellence Award which epitomizes the qualities and characteristics of a role model and mentor for developing young student-athletes. For his wrestling accomplishments as a student-athlete, Costanzo was inducted into the 2006 NSWCA – Nebraska Scholastic Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Mike Wehler was named the second wrestling coach in Mercyhurst University history on August 1, 2007. To say he’s done a terrific job would be a gross understatement.

Leading into this year Mercyhurst has won 51 of 56 matches the last three years. Last season, Mercyhurst finished fourth at the NCAA Division II National Championships at the Chaifetz Arena in St. Louis, Missouri. The Lakers were the top finishers from Super Region I in 2017.

In 2017 Mercyhurst had six of its seven national qualifiers earn All-American status. The six All-Americans broke the school’s previous record of four set during the 2005 National Championships.

Wehler, was named the Super Region I Coach of the Year in 2017, guided the Lakers to an 18-1 overall record and a perfect 7-0 mark against Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) opponents.

Wehler was chosen NCAA D-II Coach-of-the-Year in 2017 as his squad finished ranked fourth nationally.

Academically, the Lakers ranked first in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) and 10th nationally. Eight grapplers made the NWCA Division II All-Academic Team in 2017.

The Lakers captured the Division II Academic National Championship in 2012-2013. Mercyhurst had the highest team grade point average among all Division II institutions with wrestling.

The Recipient of the Bob Bubb Coaching Excellence Award will be announced on Thursday, March 8th, during the Division II Hall of Fame Award Banquet.

Share this article:
Categories: D2

Comments are closed here.