NWCA announces the Division III National Coach of the Year

Manheim, PA – The National Wrestling Coaches Association is pleased to announce the recipient of the Division III Regional Coach of the Year winner as selected by their peers. This award is presented to the coach that has demonstrated outstanding effort throughout the season in developing and elevating their program on campus and in the community. The Regional and National Coach of the Year Awards are presented by Defense Soap, the official Hygiene partner of the NWCA.

Defense Soap owner, Guy Sako stated, “In continuing our mission, Defense Soap is proud to partner with the NWCA, to keep wrestlers on the mat with our products and education in hygiene.”

Lonnie Morris is the winner of National Coach of the Year. In his 26th year as coach of Johnson & Wales University, Lonnie and his team have compiled a dual meet record of 23-4. His team has also won multiple tournaments this year; Roger Williams Invite, New Standard Invite, the New England Dual Meet Championships and even finished second at the Division III NWCA Multi-National Duals this year. Johnson & Wales was the first team from New England to ever make the finals of the NWCA Division III Multi-National Duals. As hosts of the NCAA DIII Northeast Regional, the Wildcats secured their third regional title in a row while qualifying nine wrestlers for the NCAA DIII Championships (a New England record). Senior Khamri Thomas was also named the Most Outstanding wrestler following the regional tournament. Coach Morris and his team are very active in the community service field with over 200 hours spent helping the Beat the Streets Providence and many clinics conducted by Coach Morris throughout the Northeast to Clubs and High Schools.

“We are pleased to recognize this year’s National Coach of the Year recipient, Lonnie Morris and want to thank him for providing a quality experience for his student-athletes and for being an outstanding role model to our sport,” said NWCA Executive Director, Mike Moyer.

Morris will receive his NWCA National Coach of the Year award at the Division III Hall Coaches Meeting, Thursday, March 7 prior to the NCAA Division III National Wrestling Championship in Roanoke, Virginia.


  • Central Region: Brandon Brissette (Olivet College)
  • Lower Midwest Region: Eric Van Kley (Central College)
  • Mideast Region: Jason Bovenzi (Rochester Institute of Technology)
  • Northeast Region: Lonnie Morris (Johnson and Wales University)
  • Southeast Region: Duane Bastress (York College)
  • Upper Midwest Region: Jim Moulsoff (Augsburg University)
Share this article:
Categories: News, D3

Comments are closed here.