Edwardsville plays host once again to NWCA/FCA CEO Leadership Academy

Manheim, PA- The Jon Davis Wrestling Center (Edwardsville, IL) played host to the 9th Annual NWCA/FCA CEO Leadership Academy May 14-15.  The academy is a partnership between the Fellowship of Christian Athletes Wrestling and is presented by the United States Marine Corps focusing on faith-based institutions at the collegiate level.

One of the NWCA core competencies is coaching development and we have partnered with the worlds greatest experts in leadership; the United States Marine Corp to help develop the next great generation of wrestling coaches.  This year’s event was facilitated by Dr. Dan Gould of Michigan State University who also serves as the Director of the Institute for the Study of Youth Sports. The NWCA continues to commit to its coaching education initiative hosting approximately 20-25 scholastic leadership academies around the country, the men’s and women’s collegiate leadership academies with the national convention as well as the FCA Academy.

NWCA Executive Director, Mike Moyer ecstatic with this year’s event and stated, “The architect of our leadership academy, Dr. Dan Gould once again did a masterful job with this year’s academy along with our amazing panel of speakers and mentor coaches- many of whom are Hall of Famers.  I’d like to extend a special thanks to my friend, Colonel David Fallon, USMC for delivering his rousing keynote address.” The full panel of legendary coaches includes the following: James Kisgen, McKendree HC, Mike Denney, Maryville HC, Jim Miller, Retired Wartburg HC, Jim Gruenwald, Wheaton HC, Jack Spates, Retired University of Oklahoma HC, Jay Robinson, Retired University of Minnesota HC, Heath Eslinger, Retired UTC HC.

Special thanks to the FCA and the staff at the Jon Davis Wrestling Center for hosting this wonderful event once again.

We are proud to recognize this year’s academy attendees for their tireless commitment to better themselves and ultimately their programs and their athletes.


Dallas SmithLindenwood University
Jake LadenGrand View University
Caleb FloresVanguard University
Barlow McGheeSouthern Illinois Edwardsville
Trevor BrandvoldUniversity of Minnesota
Junior (Ascary) LuleConcordia University, Nebraska
Albert LanderosHastings College
Ethan SherertzMaryville University
Myron BradburyLindsey Wilson College
Arsen AleksanyanLife Pacific College
James OverhiserIthaca HS/Bombsquad WC
Sam GardnerAlderson Broaddus University
Steven BradleyMarian University
Nate CroleyCumberland University (Tenn.)
Jeremy TenneyGo Training Academy
Chris WilliamsonLiberty University
Ryan DickinsonWaldorf University
Deral BrownKing University
Eric MorrillBucknell University
James KrischkeMaryville University
Sontonio MarchetteNotre Dame College
Matt McDonoughUniversity of Wisconsin – Madison
Share this article:

Comments are closed here.