Lehigh and Cornell Top NWCA Mid-Major Division I Poll

Manheim, Pennsylvania – The National Wrestling Coaches Association released its first Mid-Major Top 20 of the season on Thursday. Formulated in 2017, the Mid-Major Top 20 concentrates on programs outside the traditional “Power 5” conferences.

The EIWA and Big 12 conferences dominated the top 5, with four of the top five teams led by Lehigh ranked first, with five first-place votes. Cornell was right behind the Mountain Hawks in the second position. The Mountain Hawks defeated big Red by a final of 18-15 last Saturday evening.

South Dakota State fell into the third spot following a strong start to the season. North Dakota State in fourth and Campbell in fifth are Round out the top five.

The MAC made a big splash with six schools into the Top 20 along with the Big 12. The EIWA was just behind with five. The SoCon had two teams in the top 20 highlighted by Campbell at number 5.

Five mid-major teams are ranked in the NWCA Coaches Poll, with four other programs currently receiving votes.

Methodology: The NWCA Division I Mid-Major Wrestling Coaches Poll is voted on by coaches representing teams from non-Power five conferences. The poll is based on dual meet results. Each first-place vote is worth 20 points, 19 points for a second-place vote, 18 for a third-place vote, and so on through to one point for a 20th-place vote. Teams not competing this season are not included in the voting process.

RankNamePointsWrestling ConferenceAll-Sports Conference
1Lehigh100 (5)EIWAPatriot League
2Cornell95EIWAIvy League
3South Dakota State76Big 12Summit
4North Dakota State73Big 12Summit
5Campbell65SoConBig South
6Wyoming60Big 12Mountain West
7Princeton58EIWAIvy League
8Northern Iowa53Big 12Missouri Valley
10Central Michigan45MACMAC
13Penn36EIWAIvy League
14Utah Valley35Big 12WAC
15Northern Colorado34Big 12Big Sky
16Appalachian State32SoConSun Belt
17Northern Illinois31MACMAC
18Cal Poly29PAC 12Big West
19Bucknell21EIWAPatriot League
20Lock Haven16MACPSAC


Share this article:
Categories: D1 Men, News

Comments are closed here.