NWCA Announces Inaugural High School Girls Coach of the Year Winners

Manheim, PA –  The National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) is proud to announce the 2019 winners of the Inaugural State and National High School Girls Coach of the Year awards. These awards were made available for any state whose high school association sponsored a Girls Championship, Pilot, or Invitational during the 2018-19 season. This program will continue to grow as the number of states sanctioning high school continues to grow. To date Girls High School Wrestling is now sanctioned in 18 states. States sponsoring girls championships: Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts. Maine, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Washington.

Scholastic Boys Coach of the Year Winners

This year’s National Girls Coach of the Year is Mike Kimber from Mt. Edgecumbe High Schooll (AK) and the National Girls Assistant Coach of the Year is Brad Warren from Rossville High School (TN). Both Kimber and Warren were selected as State Coach of the Year winners.

Kimber (National and Alaska Coach of the Year) just completed his 19th season of coaching, each at Mt. Edgecumbe, his alma mater. Kimber’s 2018-19 squad finished as State Champions with 13 qualifiers, 7 placers, and 1 individual state champion giving Mt. Edgecumbe back to back state titles.  Coach Kimber was inducted into the Alaska Hall of Fame class of 2018 for his efforts in bringing high school girls wrestling to Alaska. In addition to the 2017 and 2018 State Titles, Kimber’s squads have won 5 straight regional championships while garnering 38 state placers, 12 of whom won state titles.

Warren (National and Tennessee Assistant Coach of the Year) just completed his 6th season of coaching and his 5th at Rossview High School.  Warren also serves as an assistant coach for the Tennessee National Girls Team often traveling across the country as they compete at national events. In addition, Coach Warren helped start a new middle school team at Rossview and serves as the co-head coach.

“The NWCA is proud to launch the National Girls Coach of the Year program to recognize outstanding coaches who are going above and beyond to help grow girls’ wrestling across our country.  We now have 18 states sponsoring girls’ wrestling with many more having great discussions about implementation in their state. Coach Mike Kimber’s, and Coach Brad Warren’s outstanding contributions to our sport are too numerous to list and I know that the lasting impact they are making in the lives of there athletes will not be forgotten.” Mike Moyer, NWCA Executive Director.


Section 1Joseph LemkeJackson Memorial High SchoolNew Jersey
Section 3Sean MoistnerAlexander High SchoolGeorgia
Section 3Vernon WalworthHoke County High SchoolNorth Carolina
Section 3Kayla SharpClarksville Northwest High SchoolTennessee
Section 5Randy RoarkLebanon High SchoolMissouri
Section 6Sparky AdairEaglecrest HS/Cherry Creek School DistrictColorado
Section 7Luis GonzalezSan Fernando High SchoolCalifornia
Section 7Rob HesiaKamehameha KapalamaHawaii
Section 8Mike KimberMt. Edgecumbe High SchoolAlaska
Section 8Trent KrollHood River Valley High SchoolOregon
Section 8Barb MorganSedro-Woolley High SchoolWashington


Section 1Frank O’SheaManalapan High SchoolNew Jersey
Section 3Ben MountHiram High SchoolGeorgia
Section 3Brad WarrenRossview High SchoolTennessee
Section 5Matt NeelyLebanon High SchoolMissouri
Section 7Fallyn KapoiKamehameha KapalamaHawaii
Section 8Raymond “Thor” WilliamsBethel Regional High SchoolAlaska
Section 8Lynn MillerHood River Valley High SchoolOregon
Section 8Tyson LindemanKelso High SchoolWashington



Share this article:

Comments are closed here.